Hooked #48HBC

Well, I am not entirely sure what to make of this one, and since I have to officially review (meaning this is an ARC) it I am going to have to think about it long and hard.  My initial reaction is that there is a lot going on here that remains relatively unexamined.

First the basic plot – Thea meets Will and falls in love, maybe too deeply or obsessively.  She gets pregnant, cannot go through with the abortion, has a baby, tries to make it work with Will, and fails – maybe.  It sounds a little like an episode of 16 and pregnant and its basic trajectory follows the common trajectory in that tv show and its follow up, Teen Mom (yes, I have watched both). But because it is a book Thea’s inner life is explored in greater detail.  But the thing is and maybe this is something Catherine Greenman gets right, that examination seems surface to me in many places.  In how Thea thinks of Will, and why the little things that bother her go unexamined, particularly in relationship to her father.  And her relationship with her father.  There are these moments before the pregnancy where I can’t tell if she is more embarrassed by Will or her dad.  I don’t know, something just didn’t “settle” for me.  Thea never really comes into focus.

One other note – the books title a play on her love for Will, and her crocheting (and this is where it might get just a little too cutesy Hollywood in the end) she talks about believe Will will return, being hooked into him – a metaphor throughout the book but really it is Ian, her son that she is “hooked” on, and in a good way I don’t mean that bad – but that little piece at the end undermines this.

I am just not sure….Pages – 276

hours 3.5

One Response

  1. Hmmmm… I have got this one on my pile, but I don’t think I’m going to get to it for the challenge. Thanks for sharing your review!

Leave a Reply

