Cracked Up to Be

Initial impressions – Sooo glad for this tournamentThis is the kind of book I would have read if I found it on my own.

Great hook: Imagine four years.  Four years, two suicides, one death, one rape, two pregnancies (one abortion), three overdoses, countless drunken antics, pantsings, spilled food, theft, fights, broken limbs, turf wars – every day, a turf war – six months until graduation and no one gets a medal when they get out.  But everything you do here counts.

Plot:  Good girl, queen of the school, perfect Parker Fadley has gone off the deep end.  Coming to school drunk is only one of her recent crimes.  Now she must show up to classes sober, pass them all, and meet with her counselor once a week to avoid getting kicked out of school.  That is much easier said than done since all Parker wants is to be alone – of course that is also easier said than done.  Especially with the new kid Jake so obviously interested in her.

Thoughts:

  • I was worried that whatever the precipitating event that led to Parker’s change in behavior wouldn’t hold up to the extremes of her isolation.  The good news is – it did.  The bad news – it became apparent what it was probably before it should have.
  • Parker is predictably difficult to like, to give her credit she knows that and embraces it.
  • The novel was compelling, I wanted to read, didn’t want to put it down.  In some ways it is plot driven – what is Parker’s secret?  What really happened?  It moves you through the novel.
6 Responses

  1. Hurray the first review is up – can’t wait to see your decision. I finished my first book today.

  2. I’m so glad you enjoyed this one! I liked it a lot. 🙂

    I finished my first book this week…just need to catch up on reviews!

  3. […] Cracked Up to Be […]

  4. […] It is inevitable that the personal enters into it.  I read both books (the shape of water and cracked up to be) a while ago, and blogged my original thoughts.  And then I began the process of deciding which […]

  5. […] Ann judged Cracked Up To Be and The Shape of Water (which had the most interesting cover, in my opinion). Her final choice is […]

  6. […] Ann judged Cracked Up To Be and The Shape of Water.  Doesn’t The Shake of Water have an AWESOME cover?  Her final […]

Leave a Reply

