3 Willows

Backstory:  When I first read Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants I liked it, wasn’t overwhelmed but ok, you know, I liked it.  By the time Sisterhood II came out I was annoyed by the attention the book got, since I didn’t feel it necessarily merited the love.  And when I started II I was even more annoyed by what I thought was bad writing, filled with ridiculous metaphors (a common but mortal sin in my book). I put it down and didn’t read any until I had to read III.  So I begrudgingly read IV  for purposes of conversation with girls who read and liked the series.  (BTW- I liked the movie for the Greece eye candy – beautiful scenery, and I mean scenery – not Kostos.) 

Oh – and the story about its existence is,  you know, icky. 

Anyways I wasn’t like I have to read this book blah blah blah”  and it has a terrible cover.  3 Willows

But I wanted something to read and it was late so I was just going to download to the Kindle (part of the problem with Kindle – waaaayyy too easy to get books) and the new Deb Caletti not available on the kindle so I thought what the hell?

 

What the hell indeed?  It wasn’t god awful, but I did finish thinking well that is a couple of hours I can’t get back.  First the love of the sisterhood is a little annoying.  Second – why is effie such a bitch?  Third – there is nothing surprising, or cool, or you know, more than bleh in the book.  It is like its cover – kind of just there.  

I don’t usually bash books on my blog, and its not like I mean too, it just there isn’t a lot to say which kind of sums up my experience with it.  Maybe I shouldn’t post but I’m trying to be better about blogging what I read even if it doesn’t send me over the moon.  And well, Ann Brashares – I’m done with you.

 However – if you are a middle school librarian – this belongs in your collection.  For name recognition, girl friendship reading purposes.  I suspect middle school girls won’t have the reaction I did although I don’t suppose this will be as popular as Sisterhood.  It is however for a middle school audience – including the fifth graders who read the Sisterhood series.

Leave a Reply

