Breaking Dawn with Spoilers

I knew Stephenie Meyer couldn’t finish off a series without pissing off a bunch of her fans but holy crap she really stepped in it didn’t she? Read some of the reviews floating around out there…… to people like me who have nothing invested in the series it is a little amusing.

I went to the release party because I went with someone I hadn’t seen in a while and it was great to catch up. But then there I was trying to work and the book was sitting there sort of taunting me – so I read it.

Up front – I enjoyed Twilight, tolerated New Moon, hated Eclipse. I am no fan of Bella, think Edward is a control freak, and Jacob is a remarkable ass. I read to see how she would wrap it up, out of some sense of professional obligation, and because I enjoy the discussions with Twilight fans. I am not rude about my opinions to them, and I am genuinely interested in their feelings about the book.

So – I was totally surprised at getting sucked into this book.

The first part seemed to be more of the same, Bella annoying the hell out of me not wanting a wedding, all insecure, and somewhat resentful of having to go through this to get what she wants. Edward being over protective, and amused by her antics, and Jacob being melodramatic. And of course I knew she was pregnant many many pages before Bella did, god that girl is freakin’ dense. The foreshadowing dreams were not exactly subtle, you knew immediately what was coming. Even if “Vampires can’t have babies.”

I liked the switch from Bella to Jacob. First off could you imagine being in Bella’s head during that pregnancy where she is all self sacrificing, and watching Edward be the protective ass he usually is. GAH! No thanks. But also I guess I felt a little more for Jake, who did kind of irritate me in a nonspecific way before. But imprinting?????? Again saw it coming several pages before hand, and I still don’t know what I think. I’m not all freaked out about the infant thing, it just seemed a mighty convenient way to deal with Jake, and give Bella a family she wants. I sort of can understand how you can make the leap that Jake’s attraction to Bella has always been about the child she was fated to have.

See this gets at one of things that interests me on a philosophical level – what is the role of fate? I was bothered at the end of Eclipse because Bella just sort assumes it is fated she be with Edward, and there doesn’t seem to be free will. But since there is all this talk about choice, it was like she was manipulated into believing in fate. And then the same sort of conflict happens in Breaking Dawn – lots of talk about free will with Jacob leaving the pack and whether or not the Cullens broke the treaty but . . . becoming a vampire isn’t really Bella’s choice, it is the only way to stay alive after “giving birth” to a baby she isn’t supposed to be able to conceive. So again its like the fates intervened or something, particularly given all the dreams Bella had before she even got married. And that is how I can understand the weird Jacob-imprints- Bella’s- child. I don’t know enough about Mormonism to understand how Meyer might view all this, it is just something I wonder about.

As for the rest. . . well you had to have a happy ending, beat the Volturi, expose their nefarious plans blah blah blah. If there was a part I could have stood being edited it down it was the wait for the Volturi to come. But you know, whatever.

I thought the kid was a little creepy honestly.

Can’t wait to talk the fans I know.

Oh- and I didn’t think the writing was any worse than in the first three – come on people, she always wrote a little florid and over the top, with lots of snarls and hisses.

Leave a Reply

