Between, Georgia

I love a book that can make me laugh until I cry, and then cry within 2 pages.  I just finished Between, Georgia by Joshilyn Jackson and I truly loved it.  In keeping with yesterday’s theme of books I enjoyed this was also about family.  Jackson’s earlier book Gods in Alabama has one of the best opening lines ever*, and while I enjoyed it and recommend it I liked this one even better – the plot was tighter.  The characters were similar – steel magnolias, to borrow a stereotype, women who have too much pride and anger that get in the way of their love sometimes, and those in their wake trying to have half of their strength, ignoring that which they really have.  I grew up in a small town, not as small as Between but I get what feuds, and memories do to families and relationships.  So does Jackson.  I am not comfortable doing plot reviews in blog reviews – go to the link and read the editorial reviews but in summary Nonny is caught between 2 families, who have always hated each other, and more so because of her.  But really it is a character study, and I like Jackson’s characters, even Ona and Jonno.  They are flawed, and funny, and sad.

So good – loved this book.

Total reading hours: 16 hrs 45 min  Total Books: 5  Total Pages: 1709

* “There are gods in Alabama: Jack Daniel’s, high school quarter-backs, trucks, big tits, and also Jesus…”

Leave a Reply

