The Nature of Jade

well, I have finished my first book of the challenge – The Nature of Jade by Deb Caletti.  I haven’t read Honey, Baby, Sweetheart but I reviewed her other 2 for VOYA.  This is my favorite.   I think she is hitting her stride.  The Nature of Jade is Sarah Dessen-ish but with Caletti’s voice.  It is maybe a little more serious than Dessen’s last few, or at least what I remember.  In this book Jade, who has panic attacks, finds her way into her own life – different than the life her mother wants her to have, or that she has been leading – with the help of elephants, Sebastian and his family, and patron saint candles.  I love the relationship with the elephants, and the role they play as an extended metaphor, and the reflection of family which is really what is at the heart of this book.  I am thinking I may have to add Caletti to the “must read” list.  And now I am going to find my way out of bed and into a few errands.

3 Responses

  1. […] like Deb Caletti.  I really loved The Nature of Jade. She writes about real people – and she does it […]

  2. […] My favorite Deb Caletti remains The Nature of Jade. […]

  3. […] didn’t quite capture me with in this novel.  That said I love Deb Caletti’s novels (The Nature of Jade is my favorite).  She writes literary romance quite […]

Leave a Reply

