Awards

It has taken me some time to actually sit down and write this entry. Blame United – I was supposed to be home Monday night, instead I got home Tuesday morning in time to change my clothes and go to work. I have been tired, so writing coherent thoughts about the Printz award was not a reality. So . . .

the winner: American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang. I haven’t read this, yet. But I do applaud a graphic novel as a winner. I like that the Printz committee does not feel constrained by format. Blankets is one of my top ten books ever, and it was published as Adult, so not eligible for the Printz but I could see it winning if it had been.

Honor Books: well, this should make some of you quite happy as An Abundance of Katherines was on of the honor books. (PS: Have you seen Brotherhood 2.0?) Someone came in yesterday to talk about how this book “stayed with him”. I love books like that, that hover in your subconsciousness. Another honor book, The Book Thief, is the book that has stayed with me. I was prepared to not like this book, not being a huge Markus Zusak fan and being suspect about hype and literary fiction (please do NOT get me started on Postcards from No Man’s Land). But instead I was totally blown away. I was slowly enjoying the book, and then it took off. I could not put it down and I was torn between savoring each line and finishing the story. There are so many well crafted words, sentences, paragraphs, Oh I could just go on. I can randomly open to a page and find something that resonates: “In his stomach was the electric combination of nourishment and nausea” and that is just a random sampling. The other books were Octavion Nothing: A Pox Party which I have not yet read, and hadn’t planned on it but maybe I will. And Surrender which I know nothing about.

Also coming out in the past few days were: Popular Paperbacks lists, Best Books, ALEX winners (Adult books for teens) and Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers. As always I look for books on both Quick Picks and Best Books. They were Tyrell by Coe Booth, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn (this book makes me feel old), What Happened to Cass McBride by Gail Giles (but of course), Sold by Patricia McCormick, Street Love by Walter Dean Myers, Rooftop by Paul Volponi, Skin by Adrienne Maria Vrettos, and Rules of Survival by Nancy Werlin. I think that is it.

I haven’t read as extensively this year as I have in the past but here are my favorites from these lists:

The Book Thief

What Happened to Cass McBride

An Abundance of Katherines (although I like Alaska better)

Post Secret

Good Girls by Laura Ruby

Other favorites from the year: Gods in Alabama and the boy book (e. lockhart) (HOW DID THIS GET MISSED??????)

And now off to other reading….

Leave a Reply

