Good Girls

I have been waiting for this book. Once weekly excursions to every book store to check. You’d think I could get the pub date right but whatever. Sooo worth the wait. I have been in a reading slump, working on this Out of the Shadows book for review, which had fascintating pieces of information in it* but sort of slowed me down. After struggling through another African American athlete integration book I decided to treat myself. I bought Good Girls by Laura Ruby, went home and devoured it. Finished it the same afternoon I bought it, with time stopped for the end of the Steelers/Cincy game.

So basically the story is that Audrey ( a “good girl”) has a “friends with benefit” thing going on with Luke which she decides to end. But not before she does something she probably shouldn’t (well, debatable I guess) and someone takes a picture and distributes it throughout school.

The voice is authentic. True.

That seems funny to me. I love my parents. I love Ash and Joelle. I love my cat. Luke is – was – a different story. Luke is like a creature from another planet. Can you really love a creature from another planet?

The thing is sometimes we do things, we may regret, that may embarrass us, that may have been right at the time, or wrong but we didn’t know until so much later. But usually if people find out it is rumor (bad enough) – it is not broadcast to the school. Or maybe it is. And no matter if it is or isn’t we don’t really have the words to explain. And explain how we feel about someone can become trite, or cliche, and be not-quite-true.

Of course there is the inevitable conversation regarding sluts and players – the double standard, that will never, ever go away. Or at least it seems like. Obviously no one blamed the boy, in fact it upped his cool factor. Not so for Audrey. That being said and this is a little spoilerish – this is a good guy. Of course it takes a while to figure that out, but if you are paying attention you know that – long before Audrey does.

I liked this story – it had surprises, and truth, and eye rolling don’t preach at me, and funny moments. It was like reading a conversation I once had with friends. Call it the true Sex and the City for teens, more so than Gossip Girls by the way because it is smarter about the sex and the consequences, more about the relationships.

I am reading again.

*Did you know that Jesse Owens and Ohio State University got on trouble because Jesse was paid for work he didn’t do?  See the more things change the more they stay the same.

2 Responses

  1. I dont really like the sound of this book. Maybe there could be some more books about guy stuff, rather than girly books. I would like some murder mysteries, or sports books.

  2. Thanks for the tip at CSLA. I picked up Good Girls after the Author Brunch (thanks to a generous Baker and Taylor) and just finished it! I have to agree with you, Ruby gives Luke very redeeming qualities when she could’ve easily gave him a bad name. This is such a great rite of passage/coming of age piece that paints a messy picture of what miscommunication can do to friends, family and relationships. I’m a big fan of telling it like it is.

    Thanks to for all the tips on Harvesting What’s Hot. I have added you to my Bloglines (which I also just learned about) and am looking forward to getting “fed”. (The term reminds me too much of M.T. Anderson’s Feed, freaky…) Anyhow, hope you enjoyed your Thanksgiving.

    DDQ

Leave a Reply

