What Happened to Cass McBride

I have a confession – I often read the last few pages of a book before I finish (usually about a third of the way in). I don’t always have the patience to get to the end to find out what happened, and it doesn’t ruin the book for me. However one of the reasons Gail Giles rocks is I can read the last few pages of her book and I STILL don’t know what happened. Heck, I’ve finished the whole book and I am still not 100% sure what happened. This woman can write an ending! And sometimes that can be hard.

Cass McBride is a beautiful girl, cold, calculating, a “mean girl.” Kyle is going to make her pay for her sins. Neither character is particularly likable on the surface, but Giles manages to build empathy for both Cass and Kyle – despite the fact that Kyle has buried Cass alive with a walkie talkie so he can taunt her. He figures she deserves it, after all it was her note that caused his little brother to commit suicide – maybe. But Kyle has his own hell, and so does Cass- and frankly being buried alive isn’t the hell I am speaking of.

So even though I skipped ahead I wasn’t particularly sure of the outcome, and because I believe that people should read this book I have no intention of telling you how it ends – you must discover this for yourself.

One Response

  1. […] it has been?) but then . . .  ok first off – Gail Giles rocks.  I have unabashed enthusiasm for her books.  So yesterday this one came in the mail (3 new boxes – yippee!) and I thought well, I’ll […]

Leave a Reply

