F#@*! I’m a Prude

This is a post guaranteed to set off filters at schools all over the US. Well, it would if people actually read my blog, and I actually used the language I am writing about.

This weekend I read Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Midway through I was reminded of Chris Crutcher’s story about unf#@*ing his first book. To paraphrase: his editor suggested he tone down the language of his first book, and he found in re-reading that cussing on page is different than in conversation. I am all for authentic language as being a necessary part of characterization, and even setting. Still . . .

I now this is going to be an unpopular opinion but I found the amount of bad language in Nick and Norah distracting. I understood that it was part of the culture that Nick and Norah exist in, and I respect that, but it distracted me. I love David Levithan and Rachel Cohn. They each have a book I adored (Gingerbread & Boy Meets Boy) and I liked their other stuff too. And I have been dying to read this book – really, truly. So I am disappointed that I am a :::bleep::: prude.

Nick is devastated by his break up with Tris, and when he spots her with another guy he asks Norah to be his girlfriend for five minutes. Turns out Norah is no fan of Tris either, plus she has her own ex-boyfriend issues. Throughout the night, that turns into morning, the two bounce around and off one another in the push /pull of an extraordinary first date. I liked the story, loved the descriptions of the music and the mosh pit, and the characters who were complex, and suffering early damage of first love.

I’m not sure if I recommend this book, I liked it but I have some issues . . . oh what the heck 🙂 read it and decide for yourself.

One Response

  1. […] more I watch this the more I love Michael Cera.  I had issues with the book, but because of Cera I am looking forward to this […]

Leave a Reply

