My Summer Reads

So I’ve been very busy compiling lists for potential summer reading for other people but I figure I should put a list together for myself. I do this all the time, but I never hold to it. I get distracted by new books, or run out of time, or can’t take hardbacks backpacking (way too much weight climbing out of the Middle Fork of the Feather River if I carry down hardbacks.) So here is my potential summer reading list:

As Simple as Snow (Gregory Galloway): Honestly I know nothing of this but it won an Alex award so on the list it goes.

A Certain Slant of Light (Laura Whitcomb): People on AdBooks had a lot to say about this title so I figure I should read it too.

Burned (Ellen Hopkins): Crank surprised me with how much I liked it so I have to try Burned. However it has received some criticism on YALSA-Bk so it maybe a read-on- the-floor-at-Borders type read.

Crunch Time (Mariah Fredericks): This book appeals to me, the idea of pressure and cheating doesn’t get a ton of play in YA – except maybe in Catalyst (Laurie Halse Anderson), or some other here and there type books and yet I think it is very relevant to teens.

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close ( Jonathan Safran Foer) : Not only has someone recommended this – they put a copy in my hand. You can’t just ignore that and expect them to read (and watch) all that you suggest.

Midnighters 2 & 3 (Scott Westerfeld) _ Sad that it has taken my this much time to get to 2, much less 3 but at least now I can read them back to back. One of the problems I have if I start a series, and then have to wait is that I lose interest. I know, I know I am fickle, fickle, fickle.

Grand and Humble (Brent Hartinger): Supposedly there is a big secret. I promise not to give it away.

Hummingbird’s Daughter (Luis Alberto Urrea): I saw this in a book store in Mexico and wanted to read it. But I couldn’t bring myself to pay $25 for a paperback, much less one I knew nothing about. So I waited until I got home, found out it was only in hardback in the US and merely added it to my To Be Read wish list on Amazon.

The Notebook Girls (Julia Baskin, Sophie Pollitt-Cohen, Lindsey Newman, and Courtney Toombs : Someone I trust told me she was loving this book so with some trepidation I add it to my summer reading list. I hated Please Don’t Kill the Freshman, didn’t get past the first 20 pages – too snarkily realistic for me – but this one is supposedly better.

Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist (by Rachel Cohn, David Levithan) – This has gotten such good buzz that I am bookstore bound as soon as it hits the shelves (tonight I think 5/23 or tomorrow).

Specials (Scott Westerfeld) – Third in the Uglies, Pretties trilogy or whatever the trilogy name is. Plenty of adventure, something to think about, etc.

The Queen of Cool (Cecil Castellucci) – I liked Boy Proof, but wasn’t blown away by it but the description of this book, and lets face it, the cover appeal to me.

The World is Flat (Thomas L. Friedman): This is pop culture professional reading. People keep referring to it so I feel obligated to at least check it out.

Upstate (Kalisha Buckhanon): Another ALEX award winner that appealed to me.

Tithe (Holly Black): I read the second one, Valiant, which surprised me by how much I liked it. I am not really all that into urban fairies. But since I liked Valiant I plan on giving Tithe a go.

Between Mom and Jo (Julie Ann Peters): Peters is a quality writer. This is a custody story of a kid caught between two moms and I’d like to see how she handles it.

The Road of the Dead (Kevin Brooks) – I have mixed reviews of this author, but this title appeals to me.

2 Responses

  1. […] And Mary Beth Miller’s On the Head of a Pin (I loved Aimee), and Nancy Werlin’s The Rules of Survival, and Laura Esquivel’s novel about Malinche, and oh yes, Isabel Allende has a new book, Ines of My Soul, and I still have summer reads, like Hummingbird’s Daughter, and well, I could go on I am sure. […]

Leave a Reply

