Vacation Reading

Having spent the past six days on a Cay that was no more than a third of a mile long and a quarter of a mile wide I found myself with not much to do but read. Oh don’t get me wrong, there was some snorkeling, some napping, and some blissful gazing at aqua green water but really there was quite a bit of reading.
I started with Sight Hound by Pam Houston. I enjoy Houston as a writer but probably less so as I get older. I barely tolerate whiney women without men in their twenties, I definitely do not have patience for those in their forties. But she still writes a mean dog voice, and by mean I mean good.
I followed that up with Good in Bed by Jennifer Weiner, the “quality” chick lit writer. Let me take minute to mention that as much as I love a good chick lit for teens, I am not so patient with the 20 something set. Bridget Jones made me roll my eyes and I never finished it. And perhaps it is because I was annoyed by the Rae from Sight Hound but I wasn’t particularly fond of this narrator either. I wanted to shake her and tell her to get over b. just like her friends. She broke up with him for crimeny sakes! and while I get the regret angle – 250 pages of it was a bit much.
In order to keep a student happy I spent time reading Sabriel by Garth Nix. I am not much of a fantasy reader _ I get annoyed when I can’t mentally pronounce the names of people and places. And frankly making it up just doesn’t work for me, the stumble over a name always is a mental jolt out of the world of the book. But Sabriel was a good read with enough adventure and realism to keep a non-fantasy reader like myself interested. The good thing is now I can give a better recommendation since I often suggest it and mention that other readers like it. Now I can say I do too.
Another fantasy type book I read was the follow up to A Great and Terrible Beauty, Rebel Angels. This is my type of fantasy – chick lit/magic/historical fiction. It crossed genre boundaries with ease. I liked the first one better, I think because it was so unexpected but this was a solid follow up. The secondary characters annoyed me (can you see a theme?) and I wondered why Gemma put up with Ann and Felicity but overall it didn’t really matter. And the insight into Felicity towards the end helped me feel more charitable.
Just Listen is Sarah Dessen’s new one was typical Dessen but probably my favorite of the what I read. I wasn’t surprised by Annabel’s secret and I doubt that anyone else will be either but it doesn’t really matter. I thought Dessen handle the melodrama very well, not allowing it to overwhelm the story and not spending more time than she needed to in the secondary characters stories other than the impact on the main character.
As a Meg Cabot fan it is a little surprising I haven’t read the Mediator series yet, but since I haven’t I took the opportunity to get started. As I suspected with Cabot her pop culture references date her but are still appreciated. I was a little distracted by the description of the car ride between the San Jose airport and Carmel because the scenery was inaccurate. I used to live down there – I know. Bit in general I love Cabot’s breezy style, and hot ghosts don’t hurt either.
I also read How Opal Mehta etc. etc. but recent events have made me consider a whole new entry for that. Perhaps this weekend.

One Response

  1. […] 2008 at 1:45 pm (Books, reading) (Certain Girls, Chick lit, Jennifer Weiner) I didn’t like Good in Bed.  What I discovered with that book is that while I enjoy YA chick lit, adult chick lit?  Not so […]

Leave a Reply

